NCASA Awards & Honors

  • The A. Craig Phillips Superintendent of the Year is given in conjunction with the North Carolina School Superintendents Association and the North Carolina School Boards Association. Recognized in fall of the year preceeding their term, this superintendent represents North Carolina on the national level, competing for AASA National Superintendent of the Year. The NCASA Champion for Children and Raymond Sarbaugh Leadership Award Winners are named annual that the NCASA Conference for Educational Leadership. Please join us in congratulating these folks for the great work that they are doing for public education in our state!

A. Craig Phillips Superintendent of the Year

  • Dr. Anthony Jackson Dr. Anthony "Tony" Jackson
    Superintendent, Vance County Schools

    "Dr. Tony Jackson has developed a culture of innovation and excellence at Vance County Schools," said Jack Hoke, Executive Director of the North Carolina School Superintendents' Association. "He has created countless leadership opportunities for administrators, teachers and support staff, and has encouraged risk-taking by all employees to improve student outcomes. The district has shown tremendous gains academically, while athletics and the arts have thrived as a source of pride for the district. Dr. Jackson is a champion of community engagement and always closes every presentation with #VanceCountyProud. He is very deserving of this honor." Click Here to Read More.

    For a complete listing NCASA's A. Craig Phillips NC Superintendent of the Year recipients, click here

    Comments (-1)

NCASA Champion for Children

  • Governor Roy Cooper NC Governor
    Roy Cooper

    "Governor Cooper has led efforts to increase teacher and principal pay, enhance safety at schools statewide, and champion a significant statewide bond referendum for building and renovating school facilities across the state. He also provided outstanding leadership in helping our state prepare for and recover from the devastating impat of Hurricane Florence. His tireless commitment to our public schools and their students is outstanding, making him worthy of recognition as a true Champion for Children," said NCASA Executive Director Katherine Joyce. Click Here to Read More.

    For a complete listing of NCASA's Champion for Children recipients, click here


    Comments (-1)

NCASA Raymond Sarbaugh Leadership Award

  • Jeff Hollamon Jeff Hollamon
    Assoc. Superintendent & CFO
    Onslow County Schools

    "Throughout his career, Jeff has been an active advocate working to improve funding for educational opportunities for all North Carolina students and weighing in on important regulatory and policy discussions impacting school business operations," said Katherine Joyce, NCASA's Executive Director. "He has taken a leadership role in interactions with the Joint Legislative Task Force on Education Finance Reform, the Governor's Commission on Access to a Sound Basic Education, a working group to make recommendations on resolving school facility funding disputes, and on several key finance and personnel issues at the Departments of Public Instruction and State Treasurer. He aslo has been a strong proponent of competitive compensation and benefits for teachers, administrators, and support staff and eagerly assisted NCASA in our efforts to develop strategies for improving principals' and assistant principals' pay. He is a leader among school leaders, and we are appreciative of his dedication and involvement."  Click Here to Read More.

    For a complete listing of NCASA's Raymond Sarbaugh Leadership Award Winners and more information about the nominating process, click here

    Comments (-1)