Enhancing, Promoting & Supporting Educational Leadership


  • j

    The North Carolina School Superintendents' Association is proud to support our state's 115 superintendents. We provide high quality professional development for superintendents and aspiring superintendents, two statewide leadership conferences, executive coaching for new superintendents, webinars and a weekly email update.  We advocate for strong public schools in our advocacy work. We wish to express our sincere appreciation to members of NCSSA for their dedication and perseverance day in and day out to make public schools the best that they can be for North Carolina's student population. We look forward to serving you.

    Jack Hoke, NCSSA Executive Director | (828) 320-6767

  • EXCLUSIVE: NCSSA Executive Director Jack Hoke sat down for a short conversation with the NCASA Advocacy Team on the NCASA Public School Matters Podcast on August 9th. Hear Jack speak about the challenges facing school superintendents across the state as we start a new school year. For more valuable content just like this, listen and subscribe to this podcast.

Follow Us On Twitter!


  •  2023 Samuel Houston Jr. Leadership Award Winners

    North Carolina School Superintendents’ Association Announces Dr. Samuel Houston Jr. Leadership Awards For 2023

    The North Carolina School Superintendents' Association (NCSSA) and the North Carolina Alliance for School Leadership Development (NCASLD) have announced the selection of the following as the recipients of the Dr. Samuel Houston Jr. Leadership Award: Dr. Lutashia Dove, Director PreK-Elementary, Edgecombe County Public Schools; Dr. Tracy Grit, Associate Superintendent for Operations and Human Resources, Montgomery County Schools; Mr. Chris Poston, Executive Director for Excellence and Opportunity, Chatham County Schools; and Dr. Jennifer Reed, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction, Buncombe County Schools.

    Comments (-1)
  •  Jack Hoke and Katherine Joyce

    Jack J. Hoke, NCSSA Executive Director, Awarded 2023 Champion For Children Award

    Mr. Jack J. Hoke, Executive Director of the NC School Superintendents’ Association (NCSSA), was awarded the 2023 Champion for Children Award during the NC Association of School Administrators’ (NCASA) 2023 Conference on Educational Leadership. The Champion For Children Award, a prestigious honor given annually by NCASA to an individual demonstrating leadership in supporting and enhancing public education, was awarded this year to Mr. Hoke in recognition of over five decades of service as an educator, mentor, and fierce advocate for public schools.

    Comments (-1)
  •  Ethan Lenker and Katherine Joyce

    Dr. Ethan Lenker, Superintendent of Pitt County Schools, Awarded 2023 Raymond Sarbaugh Leadership Award

    Dr. Ethan Lenker, Superintendent of Pitt County Schools, was awarded the NC Association of School Administrators’ (NCASA) 2023 Raymond Sarbaugh Leadership Award during the NCASA 2023 Conference on Educational Leadership. This award, named in honor of NCASA’s first full-time Executive Director, the late Raymond Sarbaugh, is given annually to an NCASA member who shows outstanding leadership in public school service, as well as a commitment to enhancing and supporting the efforts of fellow school administrators and NCASA.

    Comments (-1)
  •  Jeff Cox; Brent Williams; and Bill Carver

    Superintendents And Presidents Work Together To Change NC One Student At A Time

    More than 150 North Carolina school superintendents and community college presidents gathered last week to address our state’s most pressing education and workforce opportunities, according to an executive summary prepared by the N.C. School Superintendents’ Association and RTI International. “This annual, joint convening brings these two key education systems together to collaborate on promising practices and shared goals that lead to improved student outcomes, increased economic mobility, and producing a diverse talent pipeline that meet North Carolina’s growing workforce needs,” reads the report.

    Comments (-1)
  •  Dr. Don Phipps, Superintendent of Caldwell County Schools wins 2023 SoY Awar

    Caldwell County Schools Superintendent Wins 2023 A. Craig Phillips NC Superintendent of the Year Award

    Dr. Don Phipps, Superintendent of Caldwell County Schools, was named the 2023 A. Craig Phillips North Carolina Superintendent of the Year at an awards presentation and reception held Tuesday, Nov. 15.

    Comments (-1)
  • Catawba County Schools Superintendent Honored With Dr. Brad Sneeden Leadership Award

    The North Carolina School Superintendents' Association (NCSSA) has announced the selection of Matt Stover, superintendent of Catawba County Schools, as the recipient of the Dr. Brad Sneeden Leadership Award. The award is presented in honor and recognition of a superintendent who has demonstrated a strong commitment to lifelong learning, unwavering integrity in leadership, and transformation of vision into action.

    Comments (-1)